The UPM Physics Department Proudly Acknowledges More Than 90 Students In The Annual Excellence Appreciation Ceremony | FACULTY OF SCIENCE
» NEWS » The UPM Physics Department proudly acknowledges more than 90 students in the annual Excellence Appreciation Ceremony

The UPM Physics Department proudly acknowledges more than 90 students in the annual Excellence Appreciation Ceremony

SERDANG, 3 NOVEMBER 2023 - The Physics Department, Faculty of Science, Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM), in collaboration with the Physics Student Club (KMF), organized the 2023 Excellence Appreciation Ceremony for the Physics Department (MAKeF) held at Lecture Hall D, Faculty of Science. The event aimed to celebrate and recognize students who have demonstrated excellence in academic and co-curricular fields, while injecting motivation and inspiring Physics Department students to strive and succeed in both academic and co-curricular aspects.

A total of nine award categories were presented at MAKeF 2023, namely the Academic Excellence Award, Quantum Leap Award, Special Department Head Award, Graduate Journal Paper Publication Award, Malaysian Solid State Science & Technology Association (MASS) Award, Physics Student Award, Professor Zainal Abidin Talib Award, Professor Abdul Halim Shaari Award, and finally, the Professor Sidek Ab Aziz Award. All these awards combined resulted in a total of 96 recipients. This year, the Physics Department introduced another award to be contested starting from MAKeF 2024, the Dr. Gadget UPM Entrepreneurship Award. Sponsored by Dr. Gadget UPM, this award will be given to students actively involved in entrepreneurship and achieving a minimum GPA of 3.000.



Associate Professor Dr. Mohd Mustafa bin Awang Kechik, Head of the Physics Department, shared advice and words of encouragement to inspire all students in the Physics Department. Before concluding his speech, he expressed his highest appreciation and hoped that the success achieved by the award recipients would serve as motivation for other students to also succeed in the future. The main sponsor of MAKeF 2023, CEO of Dr. Gadget UPM, Mr. Asraf Mustaqim Amran, attended to enliven MAKeF 2023. His excellence and support contributed to the success of MAKeF 2023, further enhancing the celebration of the outstanding achievements of Physics Department students.

Ain Nabihah binti Mohd Padaliah, a second-year Bachelor of Science in Physics with Honors student and the Director of MAKeF 2023, called upon all students to continue striving to advance themselves in all aspects and become holistic individuals. Also contributing to the success of the event was the executive committee, led by Dr. Muhammad Khairul Adib bin Muhammad Yusof as Advisor 1, and Dr. Nor Kamilah binti Saat as Advisor 2.

The most anticipated award was the Professor Sidek Ab Aziz Award, the highest accolade of MAKeF, won by two outstanding individuals, Ahmad Danish Iskandar bin Mohd Fadzil and Muhammad Amir Zakwan bin Mohd Zailani. Both did not expect to receive the award at MAKeF 2023. At the end of the event, both winners shared tips and advice in balancing academic and co-curricular fields. Meanwhile, Prof. Dr Sidek Hj Abdul Aziz, co-sponsor of MAKeF 2023, also congratulated the Physics Department students who made a mark in the appreciation event through a video recording displayed in front of the attendees. He also sponsored the recipients of the Professor Sidek Ab Aziz Award for a 3 days 2 nights stay at Denai Desa.

Prepared by: Nur Anna Azwa Adnan

Date of Input: 07/11/2023 | Updated: 09/11/2023 | saifulasmal


Universiti Putra Malaysia
43400 UPM Serdang
Selangor Darul Ehsan