» ABOUT US » Dean Office

Dean Office

The Faculty of Science, which was first established as the Division of Basic Sciences in 1972, has been through several restructuring processes, and now consists of four departments: Department of Biology, Department of Chemistry, Department of Mathematics and Department of Physics. Our vision, in line with one the University's objectives, is to be an internationally renowned science faculty.

As an established faculty in a research university, the Faculty of Science is now well equipped to mould and transform ambitious science students into critical and creative thinking graduates who are ready for the job markets or to continue their studies at   the postgraduate levels. Undergraduate study programs are designed to provide solid background in their respective fields of study and to develop scientific perspective. Knowledge and skills are transferred to the students by well trained and experienced academic staff using the latest effective teaching and learning techniques supported by up to date facilities. The faculty is also offering postgraduate programs in various fields of basic and applied sciences. These postgraduate programs train science graduates to be qualified scientists in their chosen fields.

The quality of our lecturers and the research work conducted in the faculty are recognized nationally and internationally. Each year, the faculty's academic staff publishes hundreds of journal research articles and wins various research awards. The faculty has been one of the largest recipients of research grants in the University and is striving to improve on the excellent record.

Thank you for visiting our website. 

Updated:: 08/02/2023